Lecture to Tell The Story of Station’s Rehabilitation

Photo courtesy of Leo A Daly

The Great Plains Chapter of the National Railway Historical Society (NRHS) has selected KETV and Leo A Daly as the recipients of the 2017 John H. Conant Award for their efforts in preserving American railroad history through the rehabilitation of Omaha’s Burlington Passenger Station.

To celebrate this achievement, the Chapter, in partnership with The Durham Museum, invites museum members and the general public to attend a lecture in which a NRHS representative and the award recipients will offer presentations regarding both the history associated with the building and later adventures in repurposing it for use as a television station.

The lecture will be held Sunday, Oct. 22, from 2:00 to 3:00pm at The Durham Museum, 801 S. 10th Street. Participants will also engage the audience in a post presentation question-and-answer session. Presenters include:

  • Eric Miller, AICP, senior rail service planner/scheduler for the Regional Transportation District in Denver
  • Ariel Roblin, president and general manager, KETV NewsWatch 7
  • Sheila Ireland, AIA, senior project architect at HDR (formerly with Leo A Daly) and the Leo A Daly project architect for the rehabilitation of Burlington Station

The lecture is free, but if you are not a museum member, you must pay the museum’s admission fee. Those who plan to attend must register via the museum’s web site.


Share This